ESST Acorn Award for Outstanding Scholar

Stephanie Miller 

Awarded to the graduating student who best exemplifies energy and enthusiasm for learning, an inquiring mind, critical thinking, academic excellence and evidence of working towards a value-based vision of a sustainable future. A fruit tree is planted on campus in his or her name, and the person is recognized on a plaque in the ESST Student Lounge.

Stephanie (with Dr. Alan Warner, ESST faculty) is a passionate, creative, critical thinker who is always up for a challenge. In the past year she completed her honours on the impact of the North American Free Trade Agreement on food sovereignty and local agriculture in Mexico. "On the side", in addition to her regular courses, she worked throughout the year as the administrative coordinator of the national environmental education conference held at Acadia in May 2017.

Past Recipients

2015-16: Clare Kellock

2014-15: Erin Anderson

2013-14: Mandy Bunten-Walburg & Emily Kennedy (both BA ESST Honours, 2014)